This is an automatically generated PDF version of the online resource retrieved on2024/06/18 at 19:40
Global Media Registry (GMR) & [PartnerName] - all rights reserved, published under Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Global Media Registry

National Press Authority

The National Press Authority manages all state-owned print and online media outlets. It was created in 2014 after the Ministry of Information was abolished and with the proclamation of the new Egyptian Constitution, establishing independent bodies to manage state-owned media in a move to create a public service media sector.

However, the National Press Authority was not officially set up before 2018, when a new set of laws managing the media sector was adopted. According to Law No. 179 of 2018, the powers of the National Press Authority include:

  • Controlling the economic and administrative performance of state-owned press organizations.
  • Appointing the heads of the boards of directors of the state-owned press organizations, the editors of the publications issued by these organizations, and the websites, and their accountability in the event of a defect or failure in performance according to the plan adopted by the National Press Authority. The Authority may dismiss officials responsible for administrating or editing when a defect in performance has been proved, in accordance with the conditions that it establishes.
  • Approving state-owned press organizations to establish companies either alone or in association with others to undertake economic or investment activities that do not conflict with their purposes.
  • Incorporating state-owned press organizations and merge and abolish press releases within a single organization.
  • Appointing members of the general assemblies of state-owned press organizations.

The National Press Authority receives financial resources from several sources, mostly the state budget, and 5% of the profits of state-owned press organizations, in addition to loans, grants and donations.

The National Press Authority manages the following organizations and their publications:

Article (7) of the Law No. 179 of 2018 deals with the formation of the Authority, which includes nine members from which the President directly chooses three members, namely the Chairman of the Commission and two experienced and public figures, While the Council of the Journalists Syndicate has to nominate two members and each of the Office of the house of Representatives and the Council of General Syndicate For Press, Printing & Advertising Employees nominate a member to represent them. These bodies may nominate twice the number required in the last three months of the Authority term of office for the President of the Republic to choose from them, in the absence of nominations from these bodies, the President of the Republic shall elect the members directly. While the Minister of Finance selects a member of the Authority as the representative of the Ministry of Finance and the Supreme Council of Administrative Affairs of the State Council elects a Vice-Chairman of the Council of State for membership of the Authority. Thus, the President of the Republic has the upper hand in the formation of the National Press Agency, which undermines its independence from the executive branch.

The President of the National Press Authority is Karam Gabr, who was appointed by President Sisi in April 2017.

> Read more about the Egyptian media legal framework
Key facts

Business Form


Legal Form

Public Institution

Business Sectors

The National Press Authority manages all state-owned print and online outlets.


Individual Owner


Media Business


Al Ahram Establishment

General Information

Founding Year

2014 (effective in 2018)


The State

Affiliated Interests Founder

See above.


Missing Data


Missing Data

Tax/ ID Number

Missing Data

Financial Information

Revenue (Financial Data/ Optional)

Missing Data

Operating Profit (in Mill. $)

Missing Data

Advertising (in % of total funding)

Missing Data


Executive Board

Adel Saed Abdel Rahim Hassan Brik,
Mohamed Abdel Fattah
Mohamed Hassan Allam
Charles Fouad Habib
Essam El Din Ahmed Farag
Mohamed Soliman Alam Aldin
Diaa Youssef Rashwan
Mohamed Abdel Rahman Alhawari
Abdullah Hassan Abdel Fattah
Magdy Mostafa Badri
Alaa Thabet
Abdul Qader Shahib

Non-Executive Board

Missing Data

Supervisory Board

Missing Data

    Global Media Registry
  • Funded by